Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty

Statewide Service Award

The Board of Trustees’ Professional Excellence in University Service Award is intended to recognize outstanding service to our universities and to the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system. The award proclaims, on behalf of the entire system, the Board of Trustees’ pride in the dedication and accomplishment of service faculty in contributing to students’ growth and development. The award recognizes the key role that service faculty fulfill at our system’s universities in advising and counseling students; in the recruitment, retention and placement of students; in residential life programming; in facilitation of student groups and student leadership; and other involvement in university and community activities.

At its April meeting, the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities’ Board of Trustees honors outstanding educators and administrative service faculty for the exemplary teaching and service they provide students throughout the system. They are celebrated during a luncheon gala whose theme is celebrating excellence. Outstanding Service Faculty Members are university administrative service faculty identified at each university who are exemplary service faculty, identified through a local committee process, and who are nominated by the university president for selection as Service Faculty Member of the Year. The Service Faculty Member of the Year is the faculty member chosen from the pool of Outstanding Service Faculty Members to be honored by the Board of Trustees as representative of university administrative service excellence across the system.

Past Professional Excellence in University Service Award Recipients:

2015: Shahzad Ahmad (St. Cloud State University)

2016: Dr. Barbara Oertel (Winona State University)

2017: Kierstin Hoven (Bemidji State University)